Reminiscent

Click the link to read about my experiences in and adoration for the southern United States.

This poem was my first completed “epic,” as I would term it.  Two trips to the American South I compressed into a single poetic experience, and I completed my painstaking work on November 11th, 2016.  The memories in the poem are very personal, so I understand that parts may be challenging to relate to, but I hope you’ll enjoy it and long for the South all the same.

 

As a sidenote, these trips to the South inspired my love of Southern Alabama and all of Tennessee.  My second trip brought me through parts of Mississippi (beautiful pine forests!) and Arkansas (dry, sketchy West Memphis), so my state count went to 22 after my second visit (MO #12, KY #13, TN #14, AL #15, MS #21, AR #22).  I especially loved the city of Auburn in Alabama and Hatchie Wildlife Reserve in western Tennessee; both are definite must-see locations in the U.S.  In addition, if you ever find yourself near Monte Sano in Huntsville, Alabama, it’s worth the drive.  If you need a restaurant to peruse, Cheeburger Cheeburger is a heavenly chain for a burger and a milkshake.  Can you down the “Pounder” burger?  Because we did…

Reminiscent

Leave a Reply

