Transcending

A transcendentalist poem about moving on when it’s absolutely impossible to do so.

I coincidentally wrote this poem on September 11th, 2016, after not writing any poetry since my grandfather’s death in May.

 

Transcending

I.

I was a wave cascading against crags,

and I became mist near the ocean’s shore.

II.

I long for the rain to pour forth

and wash away all that I am.

I long for the rainbow to appear

and bring back all that I was.

I long for the clouds to obscure

and obliterate all that I have become.

III.

A numbness it is to no longer desire feeling;

without light, a fading memory is even less than a shadow.

IV.

I am an ash.

Once a bright flame,

no embers remain in me.

The breeze calls me to dissipate.

Leave a Reply

