Serenity- My First Blog!

A poem for my grandfather.

     Hey there, everyone! I thought I would start my blog with the poem that has maybe meant the most to me of any I’ve ever written.  I’ll surely be writing some non-fiction work about my grandfather, Roger, in the coming months, but for now, please enjoy the first poem I ever dedicated to him.  This piece was written on May 13th, 2016, the day of my grandfather’s funeral, and I read it as a portion of his eulogy (which I wrote and delivered).  Please ignore formatting discrepancies, as Word doesn’t transfer perfectly to WordPress.

Serenity

A violent thunderstorm crashes;

a brutal sun scorches upon me.

A hailstorm becomes a barrage;

an icy cold creeps into my soul.

But you are my solace.

You are the light breeze and the ocean’s spray;

you are the single ray of sun beaming down.

You are the soothing din of nature’s hymn

among the unease in my mind that’s a roar.

Now it’s all quiet; all is calm.

A weightlessness enraptures me,

and, while I’m lost, now I’m found.

A warmth envelops my heart;

ablaze and abound my soul is in me.

You are my joyfully weary exhaustion;

you are my serenity.

Leave a Reply

